Happy Birthday to Me

Well, its my birthday today. And I got a shiny copy of a bunch of Gnostic and Apocryphal early Christian texts. A lunchtime spent with the Gospel of Philip and I’m already bursting with potential blog posts. One great passage that resounded with my wife and I:

Some say that Mary conceived by the Holy Spirit. They are in error. For what woman ever conceived by a woman?

We were talking about the masculinisation of the holy spirit the other day, amongst other feminist topics. Anyway, more on this when I’m not supposed to be working…

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Happy Birthday to Me

  1. John Clavin

    Happy Birthday Ian!

  2. Happy birthday! Mine’s on the 26th, my wife’s the 3rd. September is just a great month. 🙂

  3. I could have guessed you were a Virgo — so am I (no surprise). If only you’d have given me a chance to prove my powers of clairvoyance. Happy Solar Rotation Celebration — what a silly arbitrary superstitious habit you have.

  4. imarriedaxtian

    Many Happy Returns, Ian

  5. That’s a great line! The female element in the Holy Spirit; and who *really* can say that the Trinity is not an Alexandrian Christian re-working of Amun, Mut & Khonsu or Osiris, Isis & Horus? No wonder many early Christians thought the Trinity was deeply heretical.

    I think it’s fascinating that the gospels and other early Christian texts contain little snippets showing how many of these silly theological notions were being battered around and eventually crystallised into dogma. One of my favourites is Matthew’s statement that most people thought that the empty tomb was due to Jesus’s followers taking his body away, so he made up his tomb guard story specifically to counter that. Apologists have not changed.

    Oh, and happy birthday! 🙂

  6. Ian

    Thanks everyone.

    Shane, yes, I don’t know the Egyptian context well enough to say, but certainly on the resurrection narratives I strongly get the sense of response to criticisms off stage.

  7. Kay

    Happy belated birthday Ian. Sorry I missed seeing this earlier. 🙂

  8. Ian

    Thankyou 🙂

Leave a Reply

