Meme 03: Nobody Asked Me, But

So nobody tags me in their memes, which is fine. Really. Not lonely at all.

James McGrath and Clayboy both have responses to Rod of Alexandria‘s challenge:

Please try to name ONE (I know, there are so many to choose from) CCM praise song that you find unbearable and at least 2-3 reasons why, pointing to specific lyrics if you must.

My first instinct has been taken, unfortunately. But here’s my second choice:

A better smorgasbord of odd socks you will not find. Just when you think he has wound himself into a gordion knot of a metaphoric layer cake he’ll put a bell and whistle on top just to parry your concern and hit it out of the ballpark.

Best verse:

small { color: #777; }

Take us to the mountain
Lift us in the shadow of your hand We’re being lifted in the shadow? How does that work?
Is this your mighty angel Is what your mighty angel? The shadow?
Who stands astride the ocean and the land struck me as a reference to the Colossus of Rhodes — probably just Rev 10 though
For in his hand your mercy curve ball on the pronouns! – this appears to be the angel’s hand now!
Showers on a dry and Barren place is the shower still occurring in the hand? What happened to the angel’s little book from Rev 10?
Take us to the mountain
In the city of our God wait, the mountain is in the city?

Totally bonkers. Lots of fun, but bonkers.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Meme 03: Nobody Asked Me, But

  1. Amanda

    re: “Showers on a dry and barren place.”

    I went to a worship workshop conference a few years back, and Robin Mark talked about the inspiration for this song. I think he gets a lot of questions about verse three.

    The third verse is a mash-up of Rev 10 and the story of the Prodigal Son.

    When he talks about the showers on a dry and barren place, he’s talking about our response to seeing God’s mercy being poured out. We end up being a bit like the Older brother, bitter that the Father chose to show mercy to the Prodigal.

    So his message of the third verse is mercy is like the scroll of Rev 10, sweet to the taste, bitter to the stomach.

    I agree with you, I don’t the mountain in the city thing. The city is on the mountain, not the other way around.

  2. Christian apologists like McGrath are funny.

    Cheers! RichGriese@gmail.com

  3. Rod

    Ah! Don’t feel left out!

    My post said at the end:

    “If you were not tagged, know that I love you, and that you are tagged anyway.”

    See, everyone gets the love! ha!

    Good pick, too.

  4. Ian

    @Amanda, Rod – thanks! And welcome! It was a fun assignment.

    Thanks for the background Amanda. I didn’t get the prodigal son one bit. I still can’t really see it. Buried deep down. I think Mark has this talent of writing lyrics that sound like they are profound and reminiscent of something, but that turn out to be a little meaningless on close examination. Maybe the point is that you shouldn’t be trying to figure out the grammar in the middle of singing one of these songs, and hence they are more liberating. I can’t get past my inner pedant.

    @Rich – really? James McGrath is no more an apologist than I am. Are you thinking of Alister McGrath?

  5. Rob

    This vivid prose from the Baptist Times fits in well here. a moderniser of the great old Bible commentator reveals his skills with the language: “As I attepted to present Matthew Henry’s text in contemporary English I realised I was standing on the shoulders of a giant, and inwardly at least, I also knelt alongside this giant in adoration of the Lamb.”

  6. Ian

    @rob – Love it!

  7. Wow. Those lyrics are bad.

    Your doing this makes me want to do the same with the Christian songbook I used to use when I attended church. I imagine I could find many that are at least as bad as this one. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

