Royalty and Weddings

So the country will grind to a halt to watch the TV and see a royal wedding. A spectacle witnessed only a couple of times each generation. Tears will be shed, grumpiness will be expressed, and celebrities and new money will see just how wrong they’ve been getting ostentation.

And I’ll be working. Because the 5 minute summary on the news will be fine for me. And I have insane amounts of work to do at the moment.

I was wondering tonight, thinking about our monarchy here in the UK (and let it be known I am rather ambivalent towards it: I have no real desire to throw it over for a republic, but I wouldn’t particularly object if that was the way it went).

God is sometimes described in Kingly language. Because the idea of a Davidic King was important to the Jews of Jesus’s time, and therefore to Jesus too.

Now there are few totalitarian monarchies left in the world. We have rather got into the habit of thinking about monarchies as constitutional monarchies. I wonder, when people think about the Kingdom of God, do they envisage totalitarianism, or constitutionalism?

After this exchange on Doug’s blog, I’ve spent the last couple of days mulling over models of divinity, in an idle kind of way. In particular Kaufman’s Metadivine Realm. The constitution, if you like, behind a divine monarchy. I hope to collect my thoughts into a post on the subject in due course. If you google metadivine realm, you currently get almost no useful results, so it would be worth correcting that, if nothing else!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Royalty and Weddings

  1. Ah, but I have heard that more important than the wedding (Lord Buddha knows there may not be such a thing, of course), is the British vote on a new voting system on May 5th. I do hope you vote “YES” for AV.

    Meanwhile, best wishes on straightening out the monarchy models amongst believers. 🙂

  2. Ian

    I will be, yes. But once again I’m almost entirely ambivalent about it. For me the positives of AV only microscopically outweigh the real negatives. I would be more inclined to vote for proper PR, I have to say.

    But then, here in Wales, election to the national government are conducted by PR (mixed member, so regions elect their local representative with the regular ‘first past the post’ system, then the discrepancy between those elected that way and the voting proportions are used to elect non-local members of parliament from lists provided by parties).

Leave a Reply

